In Mississippi it is a crime to sell, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribute, dispense or possess with intent to sell, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribute or dispense, a controlled substance. Controlled substance essentially means any illegal drugs or drugs without a prescription. This can include marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamine, and common prescription drugs.
For punishment for violation of this law is going to depend on the type of drug and the amount possessed. For instance, many people charged with marijuana possession want to know what will happen if they are convicted. Generally, simple marijuana possession is classified as 30 grams or less in Mississippi. This is just over one ounce. First-time offenders may face a fine of up to $250, as well as court-ordered drug treatment programs. The most serious consequence, though, is the possibility of having a permanent conviction on his or her record. A Mississippi drug possession lawyer can insure that this does not happen and that the case is expunged from the offender’s background.
More serious consequences may result if the marijuana possession occurred inside a car. For possession of 30 grams or less within the area of the vehicle normally occupied by the driver or passengers, the punishment can be up to a $1000 fine and 90 days in jail. However, first-time offenders will have options to avoid going to jail and ending up with a permanent conviction.
Possession of more than an ounce of marijuana but less than one kilogram by a first-time offender is a felony punishable up to 20 years with a fine of up to $30,000. This is an extremely serious penalty for someone with no prior record, and it reflects the state’s view that drug offenders should be punished fully. If you are a first-time offender who is facing a felony marijuana possession charge, you should contact a Mississippi criminal defense attorney in your area right away.
Drugs such as cocaine, heroin, LSD, and methamphetamine carry equally stiff penalties. Possession of less than 1/10 of a gram may be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony , depending on the facts, with prison time of up to four years. Possession of between 1/10 of a gram and two grams is punishable from 2-8 years and a maximum fine of $50,000. As you can see the greater weight, the greater the potential punishment. Possession of an ounce or more of any of these types of drugs is punishable up to 30 years.
If you’ve been charged with drug possession in North Mississippi, you’ll need an experienced lawyer representing you. Patrick Stegall is a Southaven, MS drug crimes lawyer who specializes in controlled substance cases. Whether you’re a first-time offender looking to keep a drug charge off your record, or you have been subject to an unlawful search and seizure by the police, Mr. Stegall can investigate your case and work to get you the best outcome. Please call him at (901) 205-9894 or email him at firstname.lastname@example.org.