Southaven DUI Attorney
Tunica, MS DUI Defense Attorney
A first offense charge of driving under the influence in Mississippi carries many penalties. If you have never had a criminal charge before you are probably worried about going to jail, having a DUI on your record, and even losing your job. As a North Mississippi DUI attorney, I’ll provide you with honest communication and zealous representation. It is crucial to build a strong defense, because the law does not allow for much leniency with DUI offenders.
The punishment for a first time DUI conviction in Mississippi is as follows:
•A fine between $250 and $1,000 and/or 48 hours in jail
•Completion of an alcohol safety education class
•Suspension of your driver’s license for at least 90 days, and up to 1 year
•Cannot be expunged or sealed; it is on your record permanently
The court may substitute attendance at a victim impact panel for the 48 hours of jail time. Additionally, a hardship exception may be granted for license suspension, but only for work, school, or medical reasons. The hardship exception is available only to first-time offenders, and not available to a defendant who refused to submit to a chemical test to determine blood alcohol content.
As your Mississippi DUI lawyer, I’ll analyze your case staring with the initial stop. My step by step investigation includes asking the following questions:
Was there reasonable suspicion for the police to pull you over?
Did they have probable cause to arrest you for DUI?
Were field sobriety tests administered correctly, and how did you perform on them?
If you submitted to a chemical test, was the equipment in proper working order?
Was the officer’s determination that you were under the influence due to any medical reasons?
Remember, a DUI conviction is on your record permanently. It follows you everywhere and is available for anyone to see. In my opinion this is the biggest consequence of being charged with driving under the influence. In this situation, you need experienced and skilled legal counsel on your side. To explore your options, and to give yourself the best chance possible of avoiding a permanent conviction, contact Patrick Stegall, a Southhaven DUI attorney today.
Click here to read Mississippi Criminal Law Articles on First Offense DUI