Reckless driving and careless driving in Mississippi are two different types of traffic offenses. Reckless driving, found in Miss. Code 63-3-1201, is when a person drives any vehicle in such as manner as to indicate either a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. It is punishable as a first offense of a fine up to $100. A second offense could be 10 days in jail and a fine up to $500.
Careless driving is when a person drives a vehicle in a careless or imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corner, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances. Careless driving is punishable by a fine of up to $50. There are no enhanced penalties for repeat offenders, including jail time.
Reckless driving and careless driving in Mississippi are misdemeanors, and there could be many negative consequences in addition to the required fines and possible jail time. Having such a conviction on your record could put you in danger of your license being suspended, if you have other violations. It could raise your insurance premiums. If you’re an immigrant, it may affect your citizenship status in the U.S. or your ability to go to other countries. It may affect your employment or future employment, especially if your job involves lots of driving. This is particularly important for drivers with a commercial driver’s license. If you’re a CDL and you get a charge like this, you could flat-out lose your job or your license.
If you have been charged with reckless or careless driving in Mississippi, contact Olive Branch reckless driving lawyer Patrick Stegall. Mississippi law allows certain drivers to have this charge removed from their record, and Mr. Stegall can help you with this process. And if you are not eligible for this process, he can see what options there are for fighting the charge. Contact him at (901) 205-9894 or firstname.lastname@example.org.