The Mississippi Controlled Substances Act criminalizes marijuana possession. Even small amounts of this drug can can result in fines, probation, even jail time. Let’s look at the process for someone charged with marijuana possession in Horn Lake, MS.
The most important factors for this crime are going to be the amount (or weight) of the drug and whether you have any prior record. If you have no prior record and possessed only a small amount of marijuana, you have the best chance of a good outcome. For instance, possession of 30 grams or less is punishable by a fine of $100-$250 dollars. A second offense within two years is punishable by a $250 fine and jail time from 5-60 days. The court may also order drug treatment for second offenders. A third offense is punishable by a fine of up to $500, and jail time of five days to six months.
Possession of marijuana inside a vehicle is even more serious. This is punishable by a fine of up to $1000 and 90 days in jail. Many drug possession charges arise out of vehicle stops, so you need to have these cases reviewed and handled properly because you’re looking at enhanced punishment.
If you’re charged with this offense, it’s very important to have a Horn Lake drug possession lawyer with you to make sure it can get removed from your record. Your lawyer may be able to get you into a court probation program where, if there are no more charges for six months to a year, the case is dismissed and expunged. Each case is different, and each judge may have different requirements. You may be ordered to take random drug tests, attend a drug awareness class, or complete community service.
Patrick Stegall is a Horn Lake marijuana possession lawyer. He represents individuals throughout North Mississippi accused of drug crimes. To see what options you have for resolving your case, contact him at (901) 205-9894 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.